Galaxy of hexagones?

Standard

For the last little while I have been teased about all the hexagones I have been making, well this is where I’m going with my white/black 1/2″ hexes…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3 different fabrics of black on white or white on white.. A little bit of masking tape later and I have the beginnings of my own little galaxy 🙂

IMG_20130814_222324

Once I made one “sprial” I put it in my tray so I could build more the same. My tray has a clear plastic bottom so I can put pictures in it, it was easy to follow the pattern by testing against the sample. (of course I managed to make a mistake anyways :))

IMG_20130829_142108

I may add a trail of hexes on each sprial to add movement.

IMG_20130907_224110

Having fun pulling all the paper templates from the back, it sure makes it easy when you punch holes in the centre before you stitch them.

IMG_20130912_124633

Machine basted to black background, I would so love to hand appliqué but I think I am going to machine satin stitch because I will never have enough time to finish it in time for a show in October 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I will post more pictures when I have finished the top. This is supposed to be a wallhanging but I am not sure what shape it will be finished in, hexagone or square. It all depends on how it looks after all the hexes are in place. I will need some suggestions for names, anyone have an idea?

 

Leave a Reply

